MSCUA Announces Board, Recognizes Members

Posted June 4, 2014    


Biloxi, Miss. (05/15/14) -- The Mississippi Credit Union Association held its Annual Meeting & Convention on May 15-17 at the Beau Rivage Resort in Biloxi, Miss. Attendance included nearly 600 credit union professionals, volunteers & guests.

During the event, the Association board was announced and credit union awards and recognitions were presented.

MSCUA board elections include:

  • Four MSCUA directors were re-elected to a three year term: Billy Bridges, Mutual CU; Steve Pollman, Magnolia FCU; Elmer Dickens, Gulf Coast Community FCU; and Brig Gen Richard Moss (Retired), Keesler FCU.
  • Elected to fill un-expired terms were Chris Hammond, Central Sunbelt FCU (two year term) and Kathy Scarbrough, Navigator CU (one year term).

The MSCUA board officers are:

  • Chairman James B. Smith, Jr., Singing River FCU
  • Vice Chairman Billy Bridges, Mutual CU
  • Treasurer Ray Scott, USM FCU
  • Past Chairman John Gibbons, Triangle FCU

During the event, four individuals were given the state’s highest honor, induction into the Mississippi Credit Union Hall of Fame:

  • Lonnie Boykins, director, Mutual Credit Union (38 years of service)
  • James Dewey, director, Gulf Coast Community FCU (41 years of service)
  • Charles McNair, director, Magnolia Federal Credit Union (38 years of service)
  • James Ware, director, Gulf Coast Community FCU (41 years of service)

Additional recognitions during the meeting included:

  • Recognized for service anniversaries were First Neshoba FCU (50), Forrest-Petal Educational FCU (50), MS Highway Safety Patrol (50), Northeast MS FCU (50), and Navigator CU (75).
  • Advocacy Awards, which recognize credit union’s legislative and political advocacy efforts, were also presented.  Receiving a Magnolia Advocacy Award were Central Sunbelt FCU, Magnolia FCU, Meridian Mutual FCU, Navigator CU and Singing River FCU.  Receiving a Delta Advocacy Award were Gulf Coast Community FCU, Hope CU, Jackson Area FCU, Keesler FCU, Members Exchange CU, Mississippi Postal Employees FCU, Mississippi Telco FCU, MUNA FCU and Mutual CU.
  • Jackson Area FCU received an award for being the top Credit Unions for Kids fundraiser last year.
  • Keesler FCU was recognized for their 2013 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Program Award.
  • Recognized for being nominated for Mississippi Credit Union Hall of Fame induction consideration were Lionel Blum, Gulf Coast Community FCU; Dennis Florreich, Meridian Mutual FCU;  Joe Krebs, Navigator CU; and H.C. “Bunky” Partridge, Meridian Mutual FCU.
  • Kaye Ray, Central Sunbelt FCU, was recognized for her service on the MSCUA Board of Directors.
  • Tricia McMullen, MSCUA Executive Assistant, was recognized for 15 years of service with the Association.
  • Elizabeth Edmondson, Credit Union Development Specialist, was recognized for 7 years of service with the Association.
  • William Bynum, Hope FCU CEO, was recognized for his 2014 induction into the Credit Union House Hall of Leaders.

The 2015 MSCUA Annual Meeting & Convention is scheduled for May 14 – 16 in Biloxi, Miss.


(not published)

« Back to All News